Thursday, Aug. 21, 2014

Central Region Sterling Scholar candidates (16 items)

March 20, 2014

"The Sterling Scholar Awards publicly recognizes and encourages the pursuit of excellence in scholarship, leadership and citizenship of high school seniors in the state of Utah,” the program mission statement says.

Here's a look at the 2014 Central Region Sterling Scholar candidates, who represent Delta High School, Gunnison High School, Juab High School, Manti High School, Millard High School, North Sanpete High School, North Sevier High School, Piute High School, Richfield High School, South Sevier High School, Tintic High School and Wayne High School.

Related: Sterling Scholar builds on a 53-year history

1 of 16. Delta High School

Back row from left: Lucia Valdez, Visual Arts; Johanna Banda, Family & Consumer Sciences; Julianna Rawlingson, Speech & Drama; Savannah Styler, Social Science; Emily Bedoes, English & Literature; Lexi Topham, Dance; Jandy Johnson, Business & Marketing Education; Malori Howell, Foreign Language; Shaylee LeFevre, Agriculture Science. Front Row: Michael Stephenson, General Scholarship; Jacob Bliss, Music; Jake Prestwich, Computer & Information Technology; Hunter Fowles, Mathematics; Saxon Day Trade & Technical Education. Not pictured, Mariann Choules, Science.

2 of 16. Gunnison High School

Back row from left: Millie Hammond, Agriculture Science; Tyson Moosman, Trade & Technical Education; Chelsey Shober, Music; Andy Peterson (advisor). Front row from left: Kassandra Cruz, Foreign Language; Chaise Ludvigson, Speech & Drama; Tayler Garff, Social Science; Tierra Memmott, Business & Marketing Education. Not pictured: Kerisa Crane, Family & Consumer Sciences; Austin Pickett, Visual Arts.

3 of 16. Juab High School

Sara Davis, Foreign Language; Rachel Dye, Visual Arts; Tanya Oldham, Science; Ashley Atkinson, Music; Shan Sherwood, Agriculture Science; Savannah Behrmann, Dance; Jessika Kenison, Family & Consumer Sciences; Aubrey Jones, Social Science; Jeff Rowley, General Scholarship; Ashley Whimpey, Business & Marketing Education; Walker Memmott, Trade & Technical Education; Kenneth Bonzo, Mathematics; Sam Holladay, Speech & Drama; Not Pictured: Jessica Wallace, English & Literature.

4 of 16. Manti High School

Back row from left: Deirdre Carney, English & Literature; James Olson, Social Science; Connor Aste, Business & Marketing Education; Justin Tippets, Agriculture Science; Tessa Smith, Mathematics. Front row from left: Elisabeth Frischknecht, Music; Bethany Olson, Visual Arts; Niki Nielsen, Trade & Technical Education; Kaitlin Young, Science. Not pictured: Kemri Stilson, Family & Consumer Sciences; Kenneth Christensen, General Scholarship.

5 of 16. Millard High School

Back row from left: Tyler Adkins, General Scholarship; Logan Johnson, Agriculture Science; Ashby Wood, Computer & Information Technology; Meagan Taylor, English & Literature; Austin Johnson, Science; Nathan Camp, Social Science; Denise Crabb, Visual Arts; Ellis Gentry, Trade & Technical Education. Front row from left: Emily Stewart, Speech & Drama; Mackay Baker, Family & Consumer Sciences; Lydia Koyle, Music; Chase Carson, Dance; Kjell Rasmussen, Mathematics.